Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Doctor of Ministry Research Guide: Supplementary Web Resources

If you are in the doctor of ministry program, this page and its resources are for you! Please do not hesitate to suggest other resources that you think might be helpful.

Top Bible Study Resources Free on the Web

Translations, Concordances, Cross-References, Commentaries, Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, and more....

 

Bible Study Gateway: http://www.biblegateway.com/

A searchable online Bible in over 100 versions and 50 languages.  (concordance.  cross –references).  Apps for smart phones (iPods, Droids, etc.)

Biblos.com : http://biblos.com/

Excels as an online Parallel Bible (read 8 translations at once on the same page).Has Bibles, a concordance, cross-references, dictionaries, encyclopedias, commentaries, large biblical images library (free to download and use for non-profit use), atlas, and other resources (devotions, “library”, etc).One user says: “There is no better place to drill down through the text and compare word meanings, origins, similar meanings, etc.”Lots of connectivity at once – looks slick.Interface for mobile phones.

The Blue Letter Bible: http://www.blueletterbible.org/index.cfm

Offers 14 standard versions of the Bible and an “interactive reference library”.  It includes 10 Bible dictionaries, a concordance, several commentaries (many modern), images, maps, and other tools (i.e. devotionals, sermons, etc.).  It even has pronunciations of Hebrew and Greek words, and an interlinear Hebrew OT and Greek NT.  Interface and apps for mobile phones.

Bible Study Tools: http://www.biblestudytools.com/

Contains 30 Bible translations, several Bible dictionaries, encyclopedias, and commentaries.Also contains a parallel and interlinear Bible.

Christian Classics Ethereal Library:  http://www.ccel.org/

Calvin College’s Digital Repository for classic Christian literature of all kinds.In particular, writings of the Ancient Church Fathers, and many commentaries, including those of Calvin and (some of) Luther.

Top Religion and Theology Resources Free on the Web

http://www.biblegateway.com/ and http://biblos.com/ - Excellent tools for comparing various Bible translations!

http://www.sacred-texts.com/index.htm - “The Internet Sacred Text Archive has the largest freely available archive of online books about religion, mythology, folklore and the esoteric on the Internet.”

http://books.google.com/ - Do you want a book published before 1923?  Try Google Book Search. 

http://www.biblestudytools.com/ - This popular site has several Bible dictionaries and commentaries.

http://www.torreys.org/bible/ - A well-known site set up for “serious, scholarly studies of the early Christian writings and their social world.”

http://www.ccel.org/about - “The Christian Classics Ethereal Library is a digital library of hundreds of classic Christian books selected for edification and education.”

http://www.ccel.org/s/schaff/encyc/encyc13/htm/TOC.htm - The New Schaff-Herzog Encyclopedia of Religious Knowledge “is the most comprehensive, detailed, and significant encyclopedia for the Christian religion in the English language.”

http://www.ntgateway.com/ - “a web directory of internet resources on the New Testament.” 

http://www.bookofconcord.org/ - The complete text of the Book of Concord, the Lutheran Confessions.

http://cyclopedia.lcms.org/ - A “one-volume compendium of historical and theological data, ranging from ancient figures to contemporary events” published by the LC-MS’s publishing house.

https://nc.ctsfw.edu/page.aspx?pid=490 - Pro Bono Ecclesiae- “theological resources for the Church” from Ft. Wayne Theological Seminary

https://www.wabashcenter.wabash.edu/website-topic/best-of-the-web/ - Wabash Center's "Best of the Web" - The Wabash Center provides links to around 50 of the best religion sites on the internet. They also provide a helpful web directory for a number of religion topics.

http://www.thearda.com/ - "The Association of Religion Data Archives (ARDA) strives to democratize access to the best data on religion."

Also see: http://www.blueletterbible.org and http://www.textweek.com/

Theology podcasts

Web Resources for Research

Google Scholar

Google Scholar Search

Customizing Google Scholar