CSP Library: Orthotics & Prosthetics: Start Here

Librarian

S. Brewer

Email Me

Subjects: Biology, Health Sciences, Kinesiology, Nursing, Physical Therapy, Public Health, Science

Get Help Now

Or try these options:

Call (651) 641-8237 Email

Get help from additional services in the Library:

Tutoring and Writing Support Technology Help Desk

Welcome

Welcome to the library guide for Orthotics and Prosthetics. Use the tabs to navigate to different pages. If you have any questions, let me know. I'm happy to help!

Digital Resources

O&P Virtual Library of the Digital Resource Foundation for the Orthotics and Prosthetics Community (DRFOP)
A digitized portion of the A. Bennett Wilson Collection including full-text journals, books, reports, and archived material.

Search

Browse guides by subject area

Browse guides by title

Browse databases by title

Browse databases by subject

Get Background Information

Before diving into in-depth research, it's helpful to get background information on your topic. Encyclopedias and dictionaries are good places to start. They offer reliable background information and can also help you find a research topic. Use the following databases to find background information on your topic.

Credo Reference
Includes Dorland's Illustrated Medical Dictionary, Jablonski's Dictionary of Medical Acronyms & Abbreviations, several dictionaries from Mosby's, , and more.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Includes the following e-books: The Cancer Sourcebook, The Gale Encyclopedia of Fitness, The Gale Encyclopedia of Nursing and Allied Health, The Gale Encyclopedia of Public Health, and more!
Taber's Cyclopedic Medical Dictionary, 22nd edition
With over 60,000 definitions and 1,000 illustrations, the 21st edition offers detailed information including etymology, patient care information and caution statements. Disease entries also include symptoms, diagnosis and treatment.
A.D.A.M. Medical Encyclopedia
Hosted on the Medline Plus website from the National Library of Medicine, this encyclopedia includes over 4,000 articles about diseases, tests, symptoms, injuries and surgeries. It also contains an extensive library of medical photographs and illustrations.