Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

HSV 515: Research Methods in Human Services

Use this guide to help you with your HSV 515 course.

Find Articles in Databases

The library subscribes to many databases, which contain articles from journals, many of which are peer reviewed. You'll see links to several databases below. Search for your topic in databases to find articles. Under each database link is information and/or screenshots on how to limit your search to articles from peer reviewed journals.

Note: most databases also have options to limit by year. Look for a date option to limit your search to the past five years.


 

Both Criminal Justice Abstracts and Academic Search Complete have similar search screens, even though they are searching different articles. In both, you can narrow your search  by selecting the check box for Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Articles. Enter your search terms in the boxes at the top, then select the box for peer reviewed articles.


 

Both the ProQuest Psychology Journals and PsycINFO/PsycARTICLES have similar searching screens, although they are each searching different articles. The screenshot below shows where to select peer reviewed in both databases.

 

 

CLICsearch

In addition to individual databases, the library provides access to CLICsearch, which allows you to search many databases at once. After you search, you will see check boxes on the left. Selecting these will help narrow your search. 

CLICsearch

More Databases

Because databases all search different journals and articles, it's important to try more than one. If you need more options, try others on the full list of Forensich Behavioral Health Databases.