It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Use this library guide for researching contemporary art and artists.
Find Biographical Entries In Our Electronic Reference Shelf
CREDO Reference Database has encyclopedias and biographies that will give you basic information about people--when were they born, where are they from, where did they go to school, who did they study with, etc. You can think of CREDO as an academic alternative to Wikipedia.
Find Books About Your Artist
You may be able to find books in the library about contemporary artists depending on how long they have been creating art and how famous they are. Types of books that you might find are biographies or exhibition publications. It is best to search for an artist's name in quotation marks, example: "Lucas Samaras"
Make sure to sign in to CLICsearch with your CSP user name and password to be able to save searches and request items.
If you find a physical book at a different library, click the book's title and then hit the "Request from a CLIC library" link--this will only be available if you are signed in. Submit the prepopulated form. Most books arrive within 1-2 business days.
If you are working last minute, you can select Concordia University, Saint Paul from the "CLIC Schools" limiter in the left sidebar.
Search Contemporary Art Journals
Art journals may have articles about artists, their work, or gallery reviews. Look for interviews with artists or articles about them or their work. Many of our art journals are available full text online; some are available in print in the library.
Features articles on major achievements & events throughout the art world, particularly in painting, sculpture, photography and prints. Full text available online from 2002 to present; current 3 years available in print in the library.
An international contemporary art magazine covering sculpture, painting, mixed media, and installation works, as well as architecture, music, and popular culture. Includes artist interviews and reviews of individual artists and/or galleries; reviews of film, books, and music; and an international arts calendar. For collectors and curators of contemporary art and general audiences with an interest in art. Full text available online from 1993 to present.
Afterall is a journal of contemporary art that provides in-depth analysis of art and its social, political, and philosophical concepts. Each issue provides the reader with well-researched articles on artists, with two newly commissioned writers discussing each artist's work from different perspectives. Contextual essays and reviews further develop the thematic focus of each issue. Full text available online beginning in 1993; most recent 4 years not available.
The Oxford Art Journal has an international reputation for publishing innovative critical work in art history, and has played a major role in recent rethinking of the discipline. It is committed to the political analysis of visual art and material representation from a variety of theoretical perspectives.
BOMB Magazine, a 501(c)(3) nonprofit, delivers the artist's voice through in-depth interviews between visual artists, writers, composers, directors & architects. BOMB's mission is to reveal artists' ideas, their thoughts and creative processes, as well as their progress, through carefully developed dialogues – now and for posterity.
Sculpture is an international, monthly magazine dedicated to all forms of contemporary sculpture. It contains provocative criticisms, knowledgeable technical discussions and timely exploration of new materials and techniques.
Citations to European and American visual arts material published between 1975 and 2007. If you find an article, switch to Journal Finder and search to see if we have the journal title available in full text.
Use the web to search for artists in museums, galleries, auction sites, or the artist's personal website. Below are some suggestions, but simply search for your artist and see what comes up!
artnet is the leading online resource for the international art market, and the destination to buy, sell, and research art online. Founded in 1989 with the goal of bringing transparency to the art world, artnet’s comprehensive suite of products offers a variety of art market resources to our audience of collectors, dealers, and art enthusiasts.