CSP Library: ENG 330 Young Adult Literature: Home

Associate Director for Instruction and Outreach

Email Me

Contact:

rwightman@csp.edu

651-603-6309

Subjects: Art, Communication, Criminal Justice, English & Modern Languages, Family Life Education, Forensic Behavioral Health, History, Human Services, Music, Political Science, Psychology, Religion & Theology, Sociology, Theatre

Use this guide to find articles for your Final Project. Let us know if you have any questions and we will be happy to help!

If you have trouble finding sources, try these tips:

Try searching a different database or journal. Each one contains different articles.
Search for the author's name or the title of one of their works.
Also, try searching any of these along with a name or title:
- Time period or culture of one of the author's books
- Genre
- The author's other works
- Literary elements, i.e. metaphors, plot points, etc.
- Themes in the work you're researching

These databases contain articles from many different journals. Try searching to find articles on your author.

Bloom's Literature This link opens in a new window
Literature database that includes short author biographies, overviews of literary movements and works, and peer-reviewed journal articles. Also includes the Shakespeare Center, a reference resource consisting of summaries and analysis of Shakespeare's major works.
old url: https://login.ezproxy.csp.edu/login?url=http://online.infobaselearning.com/Direct.aspx?aid=104563&pid=WE54
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
General purpose archive of peer-reviewed journal articles from a wide variety of humanities and social science disciplines.
old url: http://ezproxy.csp.edu/login?url=http://www.jstor.org
ProQuest Education Journals This link opens in a new window
Education database offering full-text access to hundreds of scholarly and trade journals.
old url: https://ezproxy.csp.edu/login?url=https://search.proquest.com/education/advanced?accountid=26720
CREDO Reference This link opens in a new window
General Reference database that includes general and subject-specific encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri, atlases and many other reference materials in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
old url: https://ezproxy.csp.edu/login?url=https://search.credoreference.com

Search in these specific magazines, journals, and newspapers to find articles on your author.

Something About the Author This link opens in a new window
Literature resource providing biographical profiles of children's authors and illusrators.
old url: https://ezproxy.csp.edu/login?url=https://go.galegroup.com/ps/dispBasicSearch.do?prodId=SATA&userGroupName=mnaconcordia
Children's Literature Review This link opens in a new window
Children's Literature collection including overviews, illustrations, commentary, and criticism of major children's authors, illustrators, and works. Available within Gale's Literature Online Database.
old url: https://ezproxy.csp.edu/login?url=https://go.galegroup.com/ps/dispBasicSearch.do?prodId=LCO&userGroupName=mnaconcordia
New York Times: 1980 - Current This link opens in a new window
Newspaper collection offering full-text access to the "paper of record," from 1980-present.
old url: https://ezproxy.csp.edu/login?url=https://search.proquest.com/nytimes?accountid=26720
New York Times: Historical, 1851 - 2019 This link opens in a new window
Historical news collection of full page and article images.
old url: https://ezproxy.csp.edu/login?url=https://search.proquest.com/hnpnewyorktimes/advanced?accountid=26720

Bookbird: A Journal of International Children's Literature
Published by the International Board on Books for Young People (IBBY).
Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books
The Bulletin, founded in 1945, is devoted entirely to the review of current books for children. One of the nation’s leading children’s book review journals for school and public librarians.
Children's Literature Association Quarterly
Children's Literature Association Quarterly publishes first-rate scholarship in children's literature studies. Each issue features an editorial introduction, juried articles about research and scholarship in children's literature, and book reviews.
Children's Literature in Education
Covers classic and contemporary material, the highbrow and the popular, and ranges across works for infants through to material for young adults
Horn Book Magazine
Provides reviews of children's and young-adult literature, articles, editorials, and interviews of authors and illustrators. Designed for professionals and academics in the field of children's books.
The Lion and the Unicorn
An international theme- and genre-centered journal, committed to a serious, ongoing discussion of literature for children.