CSP Library: HIS 121: The Soldiers' Experience (Schneider): Find Resources

Get Help Now

Or try these options:

Get help from additional services in the Library:

Tutoring and Writing Support Technology Help Desk

Find Background Information and Secondary Sources

Library databases are a great place to find secondary sources. These each have a different collection of resources so try searching through each to find a variety of materials.

Find Background Information or an Overview:

CREDO Reference This link opens in a new window
General Reference database that includes general and subject-specific encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri, atlases and many other reference materials in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
old url: https://ezproxy.csp.edu/login?url=https://search.credoreference.com

Find Secondary Sources:

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
General purpose archive of peer-reviewed journal articles from a wide variety of humanities and social science disciplines.
old url: http://ezproxy.csp.edu/login?url=http://www.jstor.org
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
General purpose academic database that includes peer-reviewed journal articles in many different subject areas. A great place to start your research, regardless of your topic.
Old url: https://login.ezproxy.csp.edu/login?url=https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=a9h

OneSearch

More search options

Find Primary Sources

Use these resources to find primary sources: photographs, oral histories, newspaper articles, etc.

Note: each website will be a bit different. Sometimes you'll want to search your topic, on others you'll want to try browsing.

Stars and Stripes: The American Soldiers' Newspaper of World War I, 1918 to 1919
A newspaper written by servicemen for the soldiers on the battlefront. Click on "Collection Items" to see all issues of the paper.
World War History: Newspaper Clippings, 1914 to 1926
This vast online collection of World War I era newspaper clippings is from a single unique source: the 400-volume, 80,000-page set, World War History: Daily Records and Comments as Appeared in American and Foreign Newspapers, 1914-1926. Beginning with the assassination of Austrian Archduke Franz Ferdinand on June 28, 1914 and extending to the November 11, 1918 armistice and years after, the clippings yield significant information about the political, social, cultural, and economic impact of the war as it is taking place and its aftermath.
Europeana: 1914-1918
This archive brings together material contributed by the public, national library collections, and film archives to offer a unique perspective of the First World War, showing it from every side of the battle lines and with insights from every point of view.
World War I Collection
Collection of images and text sources from University of Wisconsin-Madison Libraries.

New York Times: Historical, 1851 - 2019 This link opens in a new window
Historical news collection of full page and article images.
old url: https://ezproxy.csp.edu/login?url=https://search.proquest.com/hnpnewyorktimes/advanced?accountid=26720